Fall Off The Bone BBQ Ribs

Standard

If there is one type of food that I love, it’s BBQ. My hubby to be isn’t as big of a fan of it as I am, but even he gives this recipe a high five. If I pair it with garlic mashed potatoes and roasted green beans, he REALLY loves it. Unfortunately for him, tonights dinner is a bit more simple. BBQ Ribs, and potato salad. Easy Peasy.

Start by picking up a rack of baby back ribs. You could use any type, but baby backs are my fav. “I want my baby back baby back baby back…..”

Anyhow. Ribs. In the…….CROCKPOT. Extra emphasis on crockpot because as most wives and mothers would agree, crockpots are the key to sanity when you have a busy life. Well, crockpots and booze.

This recipe takes about 10 minutes to prep, then about 7 hours in the crock pot on low.

Ingredients

Rack of Baby Back Ribs
2 Small/medium Yellow Onions
3 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard
1 Bottle BBQ Sauce (I use whatever brand honey/brown sugar is on sale, today it’s Hunt’s because it was $0.88/bottle)
Salt/Pepper
1 Jar Cherry Jam/Jelly (you can use grape, but cherry is better)

Those are the basic ingredients, the recipe is delicious without anything else, but if you want a fabulous added boost of flavor, there is a bonus

***SECRET INGREDIENT***

Now, before I continue with this, it’s HIGHLY likely that you don’t have this in your kitchen, but I do absolutely recommend getting your hands on some. The tricky thing is, there is only one way to do it. You have to buy something from the company that makes it, and you can’t just buy it by itself. I will say, it’s one of my favorites though. The name of it is “Dillo Dust” and it’s a meat rub. I’m not sure any of the specifics as far as how to get some. I don’t know if there is a minimum amount of money that you have to spend, or if they just send one jar with every purchase. I do know, that it’s a genius marketing scheme. The mister bought some stuff from this website and they sent this with it, and it’s now a must-have in my kitchen. I find myself saying, “Honey, I’m almost out of Dillo Dust, you need to buy something from LaRue.” …..I’m sure it just breaks his heart to hear.

To check out the company website click here –> LaRue Tactical

(I am NOT speaking on behalf of the company, and I am not being endorsed by the company. I am not being paid in any way to promote this product, I just really love it)

Ok, now that my secret ingredient is no longer a secret, let’s proceed.

Cut your rack of ribs in half and throw them in the crock pot.
Top both halves with salt & pepper
Quarter both onions and toss them on top
This is where you add Dillo Dust if you have it, be generous

In separate bowl, mix jar of Cherry Jam, BBQ sauce, and Mustard, it’ll be clumpy
Pour it all over top of the ribs and onions, cover, and cook on low for about 7 hours

Serve immediately and they will literally fall off the bone. DELICIOUS!

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

